Modeling the Dynamics of Drug Resistance in Cancer


Doron Levy, Department of Mathematics and Center for Scientific Computation and Mathematical Modeling (CSCAMM), University of Maryland, College Park


2017.11.06 14:00-15:00


601 Pao Yue-Kong Library


The development of drug resistance is a major challenge in the treatment of cancer. In this talk we will overview some of the aspects of drug resistance that have been studied by the mathematical community. We will focus on two examples:
1. Modeling the dynamics of cancer stem cells and their role in developing drug resistance. When combined with clinical and experimental data, our mathematical analysis provides new insights on the dynamics of Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia.
2. Studying the role of cell density and mutations on the dynamics of drug resistance in solid tumors. This is another example in which the mathematical analysis leads to insights on the design of treatment protocols.


Doron Levy is a Distinguished Scholar Teacher and a Professor of Mathematics at the University of Maryland, College Park. He has advanced the integration of math in medicine, receiving national and international recognition for his work on cancer. Earning B.Sc. (Mathematics and Physics), M.Sc. and Ph.D. (Applied Mathematics) degrees from Tel Aviv University, Levy held visiting positions at UC Berkeley; Lawrence Berkeley National Lab; University of Paris 6; and Ecole Normale Superieure Paris. He was an Assistant Professor at Stanford University before joining the University of Maryland in 2007. Levy received the Nessyahu Prize for the best Ph.D. thesis in Mathematics in Israel, NSF Career Award for his work on Radiation Oncology, and Excellence and Innovation in Teaching Award at the University of Maryland for his curricula initiatives. He delivered the keynote address at the 2008 American Mathematical Society briefing to the U.S. Congress. Levy was named a Fellow of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation (2014), a Pauli Fellow of the Wolfgang Pauli Institute in Vienna (2014), and a Fellow of the Big 10 Academic Leadership Program (2017).